starts with a board.

I’ve learned quite quickly that the best way to hash out design ideas with a new or potential client is through an inspiration board. I am naturally such a visual being that these boards are super helpful in helping me efficiently and effectively articulate the ideas I have rushing around in my busy little head.

I was all two excited a few weeks ago when I got the chance to chat color and rebranding across the table from Jennifer Shea, owner of Trophy Cupcakes. I’m still giddy that she put her confidence in me to revamp her window displays at her U-Village and Bravern locations for the New Year and couldn’t wait to get prepping. She wanted the window to reflect a “party starts here!” mentality and was hoping I could give the design some sort of Kate Spade inspired twist (aka a color bonanza!).

I’ve been dying to get back into visual merchandising, so this job was right up my alley. I knew I wanted crepe paper backdrops to scream “party! party! party!” and chevron flooring was an absolute must – had to make it happen. I also planned to tie in a bunch of my vintage pieces from my scout. collection as a fun juxtaposition to the never ending stream of color.

Here’s a little peek into my design inspirations for Trophy Cupcakes. Check back tomorrow for some instagram pics of the actual windows AND if you’re near U-Village in the U-District or Bravern over in Bellevue be sure to stop into Trophy for a yummy cupcake and a gander at my design.

2 Comments

Filed under Antique Rentals Seattle, Bow Tie & Bustle, Business, Color Obsessed, Decorating, Design, Design Board, Inspirations, Interior Design, Local Happenings, Party, Party Color Palette, Prop Styling, Scout Vintage Rental Company, Scout Vintage Rentals, Scout., Seattle, Seattle Event Design, Seattle Prop Rentals, Seattle Vintage Rentals, Seattle Wedding Design, Seattle Wedding Designer, Seattle Wedding Planner, Trophy Cupcakes, Vintage, Vintage Rentals, Visual Merchandising

2 responses to “starts with a board.

  1. christa

    jenn. emma and i stopped by your window at u-village last night and it looks spectacular. i especially love the flooring and the gold dot streamers. your choice of books was great too – just another example of how you pay attention to every detail! trophy should have had you design a cupcake too – with confetti and color!

Leave a Reply

