bow tie wednesday / 17.

As I transition my dear blog into something new and rather exciting, I couldn’t help but make this week’s bow tie wednesday extra special.

One of my intentions in immersing myself into the wedding industry was not only to follow a passion, but to shake things up a bit. In my previous life (that’s what I’m calling it these days) I worked as a nurse supporting couples through the major life transition of becoming new parents. One of the intentions of the program I worked for was to acknowledge the importance of father’s in the lives of their children, as well as the importance of them and their perspective in the couple relationship and those major life transitions. Let’s just say the intention of the program rocked me to my core and opened my eyes to a lot of the things I was often overlooking in my own wedding planning process…i.e. Adam.

I ended up very much wanting to bring a similar theory/perspective to the wedding industry. Like nursing, one of my favorite things about my role in the wedding industry is that I am still supporting couple’s through a significant life transition…this time? Marriage. AND like pregnancy, the bride (female) is often the primary focus of most every discussion leading up to the wedding day and even during the day itself. What does SHE want the wedding day to look like? How is SHE dealing with the stressors of wedding planning? What color suit does SHE want him to wear? Has SHE sent out the invites yet? What colors did SHE choose?

Now don’t get me wrong. My husband had ZERO desire to interject his opinion in which shade of yellow we chose for our day…he really didn’t care. He also didn’t care about a lot of the other decisions regarding the details of our day. BUT what I do know is that he did care about whether or not our day represented us as a couple and the journey we were about to embark on. He was also the guy that spent every night for an entire month cutting cardstock with me on the floor as we handcrafted our wedding invitations from scratch. Who got the glory? Me. Even though his hands were just as blistered and bloody as my own. I also know that in retrospect the guy knows a heck of a lot more about weddings and the pressures/stressors of marriage than I ever gave him credit for. AND his perspective is pretty darn hilarious and quite insightful most the time! So as an antithesis to all of those strictly bride focused blogs/websites out there….bow tie and bustle is gonna do things a bit differently.

Hopefully once a week, (if not more!) I intend to incorporate the male perspective into this blog…hence the new tag line “ideas for him. details for her. wedding inspiration for the creative pair.” Cause guess what folks! It is a “pair” of people who commit their lives to one another on that very special day. I really believe in my heart of hearts that there is an importance in having the perspective of the groom in the wedding planning process and my goal is to make that perspective heard and represented in an industry that consistently focuses on the “her” perspective only. I will also be incorporating that groom perspective in more of my inspiration posts (style boards etc.) as well as the real weddings that I post. It’s gonna be fun!

I also couldn’t imagine a better way to introduce the transition of the blog, than to make my dear sweet hubby and new guest blogger this weeks bow tie wednesday.

Is he not the cutest thing you’ve ever seen! I sure think so!

Look for lot’s of changes around here in the coming week’s as bow tie & bustle shifts directions a bit.

Also, what do ya think of bow tie and bustle’s new mini face lift??! More on that soon!

photo cred: {sears circa 1984}

Leave a comment

Filed under Bow Tie Wednesday, Fashion, Groom, Him, Male Perspective

Leave a Reply

