celebrating love with burritos & bikes.

I woke up this morning realizing how little I’ve shared in the past couple of weeks about my day to day life on the good ‘ol blog. As I mentioned a couple days ago, I’m in the midst of launching a new personal blog (details coming soon!) and I think in the mean time I’ve just kinda put the personal posts on hold. But WHY? Life is happening and I love capturing it, so why not chat about it?

So as a means of sharing some personal stuff, I thought I’d share pics and details from our amazing anniversary trip to Fort Collins last month. Adam and I got married 2 years ago in the adorableness that is LaPorte, CO and stayed at the gorgeous Armstrong Hotel. So now, it’s kinda our thing. Yep, EVERY year we plan to head back to CO to ride bikes, eat yummy food and stay at the Armstrong – cause it’s just FUN!

I think it’s SO IMPORTANT to celebrate the love in life, and I’m so excited to know that no matter how crazy life may get, Adam and I will always prioritize us around August 30th.

P.S. Debuting the new red do’. I’m kinda loving the red!

Riding bikes while in downtown Fort is such a blast…minus when you’re getting yelled at for riding in dismount zones and when you can’t find anyone to snap a decent pic of ya. What do you do? Get creative.

Wedding Cake. Champagne. The Armstrong. It doesn’t get better. I was SO excited and quite honestly flabbergasted when Adam surprised me by remembering to order our anniversary cake. I was teary eyed when he told me cause it meant so much that he remembered. In the midst of all the wedding craziness in August…it totally slipped my mind. Oh, how I love this guy. AND almond poppy seed cake with raspberry filling.

One of the things that Adam and I miss the most about CO is the burritos. NO JOKE. Colorado has the BEST burritos EVER! Our fav breakfast burrito place of all time is Burritos & Co. in Denver (58th and I-25 for my CO peeps), but for lunch or dinner or anytime in between it’s: BIG CITY BURRITO. Their potato burrito on jalepeno cheddar is the best thing that has ever happened to me…no honestly – I hit up that place so many times in college I’m surprised it didn’t turn into one big burrito! They are best!  Oh, and it doesn’t hurt that they provide a million and a half hot sauces to drizzle on top of your burrito. It’s all about the details folks…the details.

And then as if to say “welcome home Seattleites!” it rained. Not a ton, but enough to make you fall in love with the smell all over again. Colorado rainstorms are by far the best I’ve ever experienced. They smell amazing, they actually make noise, and they fulfill their purpose & then go on their merry way vs. the Seattle lingering drizzle which is just total BS.

And what better to do in the rain but shop?! One of my fav stores in the world is on College Ave. called EsScentuals – very Parisian inspired, with tons of gorgeously wrapped soaps and dainty bottles surrounded by perfectly enticing vintage props. I found myself gawking at an Eiffel Tower looking stand only to be told it wasn’t for sale…bums! But I found some super adorable letters and got my french fix…yes! I also love finding cute gifts and souvies at White Balcony next door. It’s just one of those places where you can get lost for ours. Gotta love that!

Mama Said Sew is also a must see if you are the crafty type. They are filled floor to ceiling with the most gorgeous vintage fabrics and buttons you could EVER imagine. I have the hardest time leaving the place whenever I visit, and I couldn’t help snap a shot of my adorable boy waiting patiently outside while I browsed.

Did I mention we eat while traveling? Yeah. We. Do…A LOT! And one of my most favorite places to stop while in CO is Snooze. Snooze is absolutely the BEST breakfast I’ve ever had…this time we chomped on their breakfast pot pie, the pancake flight including a peach cobbler, sweet potato AND buttermilk pancake. YUMMMMMMMMM. My hot chocolate was also super duper tasty!

As a last minute anniversary gift I got Adam his very first big boy shave at a real barber shop. So much fun! The pic of him lookin’ like a mummy is my favorite of the trip. Oh and you just have to make a stop at BeauJo’s for yummy pizza…it’s kinda a no brainer.

Old town Fort is currently littered with these ADORABLE piano’s painted with pops of color and cute little illustrations. I begged Adam to play me a song at each and every last one, and lucky enough for me he agreed. Getting serenaded by your man is the best!

We wrapped up the trip with a quick stop at our wedding venue to snag a peek at our brick that lines the path to the ceremony site. Totally cheesy, but totally awesome all at the same time. I love knowing that a piece of Adam and I will always be in Colorado.

The entire visit made me miss those good ol’ rockies and the feelings of home. We had SUCH a good time and I can’t wait to go back next year!

photo cred: {jenn elliott blake}

2 Comments

Filed under Details, My Life, My Photography, Personal, Travel

2 responses to “celebrating love with burritos & bikes.

  1. love this post jen! it brings back a lot of great memories for me of leisurely days spent hanging out in downtown fort collins! we’d drive down from laramie just for the day, do some shopping, eat some good food, and stop for ice cream at walrus!

    glad you had a nice anniversary!

  2. aw, these are gorgeous photos, jenn! looks like it was a wonderful trip…and that almond poppy-seed cake…oh my god. yum!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

