meant to be.

For as long as I can remember it’s all she has wanted to be. She had a passion and a gift – something everyone saw in her. She had compassion and an ease about her that people, especially little ones, gravitated towards and gobbled up. She had a laugh that was infectious and a smile that felt as genuine as a hug from your best friend. She had set her sights on the bigger picture of life: a family. And nothing would stop her from someday creating her own.

My sister Sarah was destined to be a mom. I don’t think there has ever been a day when I doubted her desire to be one, and I’ve always anticipated that she’d do a far better job at it than I ever would. Kids love her. A LOT. And not in one of those “oh she’s so nice” kinds of way, but in a “this person is something special – someone I want in my life always.”

I’ve always assumed that as a Mom she’d love harder, play wiser and encourage louder than anyone I’ve ever known. She’d be one of those women that just knew what to do for her children without ever being told how to do so. She’d love her kids with every fiber of her being and without a question or doubt in her mind that a mom is what she was meant to be. So on the day that I found out she was pregnant I knew her biggest dream had come true – I could hear the joy in the way she said the words. It was one of those moments that I wished I could actually see the look on her face vs. settling for what my imagination provided me from miles away.

Last week I saw my sister for the first time in months and she looked more in her element than I have EVER known her to be. She had an air about her that just rang “this is exactly where I’m supposed to be” and it was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. I was so happy to see her so happy, and it was the craziest experience in the world to feel this little person that she’d waited so long for kicking inside her. And despite my years of interacting with expecting couples this was different – it felt different and it was different. There was a connection I had to this belly, to this baby, to this joy that I’d never felt before and it was totally amazing.

And since Sarah was absolutely glowing during our two days together, I just had to snap some pictures of her growing belly and she and Tristan’s love for their soon to be little man.

Sarah and Tristan I am beyond thrilled for you both. I can’t wait to meet Emryk and watch you grow together as a couple and as new parents. This new adventure will come with challenges, but I see you flourishing in your new roles. I wish you a lifetime of family joys and adventures. Love you both and Emryk too! xoxoxoxo – jb.

photo cred: {jenn elliott blake}

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Couples, Details, My Photography, Personalized

2 responses to “meant to be.

  1. kristina lewis

    awwwwwww!!!!!! I love this 🙂 and them too! Baby emryk is going to be so beautiful and loved and blessed with a great family!! Congrats to mommy and dady…and aunties and uncle and grandparents to be 😀

  2. Sue Ewing

    Wonderful photos and thoughts, Jenn! How could they be anything otherwise with Sarah pregnant and Tristan as excited as can be. But your special words and your camera work make it all very special. xxoo, Sue

Leave a Reply

