starting anew + risk.

I read a post last week by the amazingly fabulous Jasmine Star and was rocked to my core by a comment she made on her blog. She was talking about her choice to leave law school to pursue her dream of becoming a wedding photographer and the “risk” she took to do so:

“People often assume the risk I took to start my business was not returning to law school. But that’s far from the truth. I would have taken a larger risk staying in law school knowing just how unhappy I was. Sometimes we risk our dreams for safety and comfort, but I was ready to risk safety and comfort for my dreams.”

Wow. Is that what I was doing? Risking happiness for safety and comfort? It sure felt like it at the time…

As I sit here day after day engulfed by the hypnotizing light of my computer screen, I contemplate this risk over and over in my mind. I contemplate it most on the days when I reach for answers to what I have yet to know or learn. But I, like Jasmine, believe there is something to be said for happiness and seeking the fulfillment of your dreams, regardless of how frightening, anxiety provoking or uncomfortable this quest may be. Even when it means obtaining this happiness on a winding road that withholds guarantee, promise or certainty.

Starting anew has been one of the most challenging, yet exciting tasks I’ve ever taken on, and without a doubt full of some type of risk. This risk has actually become my ally as it is what propels me on those days when my rational mind attempts to catapult me back to more familiar days of comfort and safety.

Next week I will embark on my next challenge. My next big risk. My very first full design destination wedding, and as of now I am channeling that girl…

Which girl you ask? The girl in the picture you see below. The one who isn’t afraid of anything, and certainly is not afraid to start anew, follow her dreams and laugh confidently in the face of risk. That girl was the same girl who came home from Paris last year to leave a life of safety and comfort for happiness and dreams…I want to be that girl…now and always.

2 Comments

Filed under Bow Tie & Bustle, Business, Inspirations, Just Because, Self Exploration

2 responses to “starting anew + risk.

  1. Coli

    I am so lucky to have a sister like you! You, as well as Sarah, make me strive everyday to be a better person and push myself harder to accomplish the things in life that I know I can.
    I love you so much and I am so proud of you! I can’t wait to see where you will be in the next couple of years 🙂

    Coli

Leave a Reply

