2nd saturdayz.

Holy Flea Market!

Today I woke Adam up bright and early (okay. no. really he woke ME up as I slept right through the first and apparently, second alarm) at 7:22am so we could head over to our very first attendance to 2nd Saturdayz.

For more than two years I have been searching for a flea market opportunity in Seattle that happened on a consistent basis and was near my neck of the woods. Now don’t get me wrong, the Fremont Sunday Market is a great place to scope for antiques, but it just wasn’t feeding my soul in the way I expected, nor needed it to. I stumbled upon 2nd Saturdayz while following rabbit trails on other’s blogs (blog rabbit trails = my daily dose of happiness) and was immediately champing at the bit to attend.

My first opportunity to attend came in February but was overshadowed by my diligent prep around the Montmartre shoot (I wanted it PERFECT and therefore was all consumed – not the best business strategy I’m learning, but it’s where I was nonetheless). My second opportunity came in March, but my in-laws were in town that weekend and the last thing I wanted was for them to watch me hem and haw for 6 hours over a tattered railroad trunk – fun for me…NOT so fun for them. So….THIS Saturday marked my very first opportunity to excitedly and eagerly attend the market.

Adam and I arrived early with hopes to be the first peeps in line so I could: #1 – get first dibs at the best stuff (um, of course!) and #2 – to get the door prize (a goodie bag full of easter goodies – okay not an outrageously amazing thing, but who doesn’t like free stuff? – score!). Well #1 definitely happened, but #2 not so much…this thing is P-O-P-U-L-A-R!

We arrived to a line waiting outside the door and as we stepped in line I felt the rush. That rush. My rush. The rush I get when I know I am about to do something that truly, deeply, and insurmountably makes me excited and exhaustedly happy. Scouting for antiques and vintage pieces has to be one of my MOST favorite things to do and fortunately I have a husband/best friend who will bear it (*to an extent and most of the time).

As we entered the flea, I did what I always do….blink frantically, walk in a zig-zag pattern, and touch/feel/prod/and grab anything that sparked that creative rush inside me. Well lucky enough for me I found what I was looking for….a flea that gave me that rush on a consistent basis for almost 3 HOURS! Yep, for 3 hours I scavenged…picking things up, turing them over, asking about their history, brainstorming where the piece would fit (in my life? in my home? in my business? in my designs? in future weddings/shoots?) because although I wish I could buy everything that my eye touches, it’s of course just not possible…why? Cost. Cost. Cost. Antiques are cool…not so cool 10 years ago to my generation, but REALLY cool now, AND with that cool = huge markups and some serious bartering from me. So much bartering in fact that I often spend the drive home debriefing about my bartering skills. “Did I push too hard? Did I not push hard enough? Should I have bartered from the get go? Should I not have bartered at all?” I agonize over these details because as with anything social there appears to be a standard practice. And although I consider myself a “seasoned antique shopper” I am not an expert on the standard practice including bartering just yet, but someday I will get there, why? Because I love this scouting SO SO much that I won’t stop til’ I am the *expert scouter* – plus all those episodes of American Pickers aren’t hurtin’ either!

All of these thoughts fill my brain as we drive home with our trunk (in this case car) full of goodies.

And as I find my way in my business, and in my new path, I constantly question where this passion, rush and obsession with antiques will lead me. I know it can only lead me somewhere if I actually listen to this passion. I of course do my best to incorporate all of the pieces I buy into my designs, but I feel like there is a BIGGER and BETTER way to share my love for antiques with others. There is just something so honest, so raw and so beautiful about a second hand vintage piece…it has a story; it has a life of its own. And THIS deserves to be shared.

Sharing coming soon…

For now, check out a few pics from my attendance at 2nd Saturdayz. For those of you in the Seattle area 2nd Saturdays happens on the 2nd Saturday (um well, yeah!) of every month from January through December, except May. Check it out! P.S. There is an entrance fee of $10 before 10am, $5 after 10am…but believe me, you WANT to be there before 10am. You just do.

how perfect is this location?! antiques = re-cyling & re-loving!

2nd Saturdayz is very much in the direction of a rustic/distressed vibe. I’m eager to find other fleas around the Seattle that offer pieces of different genres/eras too…wanna diversify my collections for sure but this was a great flea to hit up!

My most favorite finds of the day! These seltzer bottles immediately became prized possessions for me for a couple of reasons: 1. They remind me of Paris. When I was in Paris last fall wandering the fleas, I stumbled upon an ENTIRE table filled with these beautiful bottles. I stood in awe of them for many minutes even snapping one of my most favorite detail pics from my trip in their presence (see below). When I look at these bottles I am catapulted back to a time that made me feel so alive and so free…that’s a great feeling; 2. I bartered my tail off for these babies! Count out 1 1/2 hours of dancing with the vendor, leading to a 21% savings from the originally marked price. Heck yes. Go me!

Parisian bottle love.

4 Comments

Filed under Antiques, Bow Tie & Bustle, Decor, Details, Props, Recycle, Vintage Finds

4 responses to “2nd saturdayz.

  1. Dinah

    Hey Jenn,
    Next time you go, I would love to go with… Looks like a fun adventure and flea markets remind me of home!
    Hugs
    Dinah

  2. Jenn! Your blogs always make me LOL! I loved this one. . .At least we know where you will be the 2nd Saturday of each month! Hugs!

  3. I wish I was in that area. Everything looks so pretty and I can get a lot of inspiration from that place.

    cheers
    Missy
    http://throughanindielens.blogspot.com/

  4. thank you so much for coming to 2nd Saturdayz, 2sat as we are starting to call it. I would love to meet you the next time you come, please hunt me down and introduce yourself.

    We are so proud of our little market and we are looking forward to an exciting year ahead. Please feel free to let me know what kind of vendors we might be able to scope out to do 2sat that would make your shopping experience more fun.

    Thanks again for the kind words, it is exactly what we are hoping to do, to inspire.

Leave a Reply

