building a business

I returned home from a holiday in CO to the most immense New Year’s Resolution I had EVER attempted to take on: become a full-fledged business owner by the end of January. Well, this past Monday marked the end of my first month in business, and I couldn’t have imagined how life altering and time intensive this resolution could have been.

Business owner. Yep. That’s me! In just 31 short days I made it happen, and I couldn’t be happier with the decision. I won’t pretend that leaving my previous career to a life of home business was an easy transition (it was actually the most physically, mentally and emotionally demanding journey I have ever attempted) but it has been well worth it. I have never felt this complete…ever.

And along with this transition came a multitude of decisions. Oh! The decisions! From website design, to business account type, to client proposals, to the arrangement of my home office, to business card formatting, to my daily schedule…the list of decisions goes on. My days are filled to the brim with emails, phone calls, blog scrolling, scouting for antiques for upcoming projects, meetings, crafting, planning, organizing, talking to brides and grooms and vendors alike…and I just LOVE it!

My first month has come with many accomplishments, some of the largest including:

1. Launching my website: http://www.bowtieandbustle.com

2. Attending my first wedding show

3. Booking 2 destination weddings: 1 on Orcas Island and 1 in Mexico (yahoo to Kirstin & Jordan and Vanessa & Tony! Cannot wait for your big days!)

4. Coordinating 8 different vendors on a Montmartre bridal inspiration shoot I designed and styled. Shoot coming on February 13th – wahoo!

5. Turning our dining room into my new home office – thanks for the help hubby!

and

6. Purchasing my business licenses and officially becoming: Bow Tie & Bustle LLC

The things I’ve struggled with most in my first month of business:

1. Self care – what’s that? Oh yeah, that’s things like drinking water, exercising, eating more than one meal a day…you know, those sorts of things.

2. Connecting with friends and family. Sorry to all who I have neglected over the past month. My goal for February is to dedicate more time to catching up with friends and my dear loved ones.

3. My business cards. Small and seemingly insignificant I know, but uber important with regards to branding! I’m a self-declared “paper snob”, and the paper just, well, isn’t cutting it! New business cards, coming soon!

4. Transitioning my blog. One of the things that I feel is most important with regards to my new business is blogging, and I haven’t dedicated as much time as I would like to this part of my business. My goal is to launch my new “bow tie & bustle” blog in February as well as another blog focused on the PNW…we shall see!

and

5. My office chair. Really! I had no idea how horribly my back could hurt without the right type of chair. I’ve had the hardest time finding an office chair that is both comfortable AND cute. It practically doesn’t exist.

So, the biz is off and running and there are still many more decisions to be made. My primary focus today, and for the next week will be the upcoming Montmartre photo shoot (super stoked!) and then it’s time to focus on blogging. I would love to blog a couple of times a week including posting about the things that are inspiring me at the moment and my current projects/weddings. I’m planning to sync my jbpapier blog with my new bow tie & bustle blog and am hoping you all will continue following me on this journey! Thanks again to everyone for their continued support! Much love!

*JB

Oh and I couldn’t imagine blogging without a few pics to go along!

Here’s what’s currently inspiring me: a Chevy truck I run past on my morning runs. Love, love, love the rusted color combo. Wouldn’t these colors be fantastic for a wedding design! Crossing my fingers for the bride and groom that choose this color combo!

4 Comments

Filed under Bow Tie & Bustle, Brights, Just Because, Self Exploration, Weddings

4 responses to “building a business

  1. Emma

    Wow!! Have Adam read this to you tonight with your eyes closed…. YOU are doing it!!!!!!!! So proud of you.

  2. Steph

    You give me goosebumps! I’m sooo proud of you!!! And great work, Adam, for the much-needed (and deserved!) support. You GO GIRL! (By the way, does Adam get to come with you to the destination weddings?! I could fill in if he can’t go… just saying). CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU GUYS to hear all about what month number 2 has planned for you! (Bren is off that Monday, too… prolonged visit? Let us know!) CONGRATS!! 🙂

  3. Congrats on your new business, Jenn! I’ve been a big fan since I spotted your reports from Paris. (Your stories and photos were downright inspiring!)

    Since then, I’ve been delighted to follow your evolution. There’s no question that you’re extremely creative *and* visually gifted … and I have no doubts that you will succeed. All my best as you get Bowtie & Bustle off the ground,

    Heather
    Minneapolis, MN

Leave a Reply

