A Birthday Box

I was REALLY excited last week when my good friend Apple asked me if I could make a little box for her stepdaughter Kameko for her 9th birthday. She was planning to give Kameko some little Japanese trinkets, and wanted something in which to place them. I asked her to give me an idea of who Kameko is and what she likes, and after Apple listed off a few things I immediately had something in mind.

When I was younger, my grandmother taught me how to decoupage and I have adored it ever since. That same year, I made a special wooden box for my mom that included 3 little wooden eggs inside it, representing one for myself, and one for each of my sisters. I decoupaged the outside of the box with all the things that my mom loves and also decoupaged each egg with things that represented each of her daughters. I remember my mom really loving the gift, and to this day she still has the box sitting on my grandmother’s hutch in her bedroom.

I wanted to make a box for Kameko that would hopefully be something she treasured and would keep for many years to come, just like my mom. I started with a plain wooden box that I found at a craft store and used some bright and colorful Japanese, Italian, and Indian papers to decorate the outside of the box. I also included various beautifully ornate paper pieces that I was gifted for my own birthday this year.

To top the box off, I included Kameko’s name on the side of the box using these fantastic cardboard vintage school letter cards I found while browsing an antique fair in Chicago last month. I also added a gorgeous gift tag to the box so that Apple could write her own personal greeting to Kameko.

I had a total blast making this little birthday box, and look forward to hopefully creating more in the future. I want to wish Kameko a VERY “Happy 9th Birthday” and thank Apple for giving me the opportunity to create a personalized gift for someone so dear to her.

2 Comments

Filed under Birthday, Brights, Decoupage, Gift Tags, Personalized, Unique Paper Prints

2 responses to “A Birthday Box

  1. karen

    Hi There!
    I am Kameko’s mother, and I love this little box. I teach sustainability studies and this past year we took an in-depth, critical look at the DIY and handmade movements, and we made a number of craft projects ourselves. This little box fits right into our world right now. So pretty, and so well-made. And really perfect for Kameko!

    Many thanks!
    We love it.
    Mama

    • Hi Karen,
      Thank you so much for your kind words on my craftsmanship. I’m so glad you like it! I had a wonderful time making the box for Kameko, and have enjoyed the opportunities I have had to meet her. She is such a smart and beautiful little girl : )
      Jenn

Leave a Reply

