Look Whoooo!

I was so excited to get the opportunity to create Maili’s baby shower invitations. I worked with Maili during my time at UW Medical Center and I adore her! I actually saw her last weekend and she has to be one of the most beautiful pregnant woman I have ever seen – she was glowing!

Emma and Kate (hostesses of the event) were in the process of searching for invitations when Emma suggested that I make the invites rather than her and Kate purchasing them offline. I jumped at the opportunity especially since Emma and Kate were kind enough to give me creative liberties, only requesting that there be a few shades of blue in the design; AND I had never made a baby shower invitation before.

I have always wanted to do something with owls (they are so cool!), and while searching through baby shower invitation wordings online, I came across the adorable idea of stating “look whoooo’s expecting” as the opening statement on the invite. The statement turned out to be the perfect tie-in to my owl design.

The owls came to fruition through hours of cutting out different shapes to create my own owl “ideal”.  I wanted there to be a mamma owl and baby owl, and as I started the process of cutting all the tiny little pieces by hand I thought, “there has to be a better way to do this!” I checked out a few paper shops in Seattle, and came across circle punches that were the perfect size for the owls eyes. As for the rest of the design it is all from scratch and hand cut. I had so much fun making these invites!

I hope you love them as much as I do, Maili! Congratulations my friend, you are going to be an amazing mommy!

1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Invitations

One response to “Look Whoooo!

  1. These are so awesome!!! You should put these on Etsy, I’m sure you’d get orders/requests very quickly!
    I might have to borrow your idea for an upcoming project 🙂

Leave a Reply

