Gratitude

There are so many opportunities in life to thank those around us for all that they do. Whether it be a friend, a family member, a co-worker, or someone I meet on a random day on a random street corner, I find myself saying “thank you” A LOT. And that makes me such a blessed person! How lucky am I to have kind gestures or nice things done on my behalf that allow me so many chances to express gratitude!?!

I truly have some of the most amazing friends and am constantly flabbergasted by the amount of love and support I am given day in and day out. This past weekend was NO exception. Adam and I had a couple of our closest friends Brendan and Steph visiting us from Portland to attend Evan and Amy’s wedding. As enjoyable as the weekend was, our Bailie Bug became ill again and we had to take her back to the vet. I was VERY nervous to leave her alone all night on Saturday to attend the wedding and was brainstorming ways to come back home to check in on her and feed her dinner at 6pm.

…In steps my fantastic friend Emma and her amazing fiance Jason (love them by the way). I called Emma and left a voicemail stating my predicament and within minutes I received a phone call back saying that she and Jason would come over to our house, let Bailie out to go potty, and feed her dinner. Emma never once showed any hesitation in her ability to come and help me out. I was BEYOND grateful and Emma and Jason’s gesture assured that Adam and I were able to fully enjoy Evan and Amy’s big day. Thank you Emma and Jason!!

I decided to make Emma and Jason’s thank you card using decoupage. I LOVE DECOUPAGE and have previously used this technique on art canvas, cardboard and wood. I have never used decoupage to create a greeting card, but there is a first time for everything…right? : )

For those of you who may not know what decoupage is, it is an art technique where you use paper cutouts (from magazines, newspaper, books, pictures, tissue paper, wrapping paper, greeting cards etc.) and you create a collage using the cutouts. You then use a special adhesive to glue all of the pieces together onto the object. For this particular project I used metallic colored tissue paper and cutouts from a magazine I had lying around. Here is the end result…

I also wanted to take a moment to thank everyone for their love and support with regard to my blog. The comments I have received have inspired me to keep going and are the fuel to my fire!  I am so grateful to have such a supportive group of family and friends. Thank you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Greeting Cards, Thank You Notes

Leave a Reply

